Opponents Of Proposal One Urge Voters To Say No

A grassroots movement has emerged to oppose Proposal One, the ballot measure to raise over a billion dollars a year for Michigan’s roads by increasing the sales tax. Polls show it’s likely to fail next Tuesday, which is what should happen, says Cindy Duran, editor of the Core Principles newsletter. She says that state lawmakers were dodging their responsibility to get the roads fixed last year, when they ended out the legislative session by putting Prop One on the ballot, rather than by approving one of the legislative solutions they had before them.


Duran says that the legislature should have dealt with roads sooner, and without pushing a severe tax increase on residents:


Duran says that the increase of the state sales tax from six to seven percent included in Proposal One might not sound like much, but it actually is a 17 percent increase in what consumers would be paying for sales tax. She says that the proposal also gives money to other priorities besides roads, and that the bulk of the 1.2 billion a year Prop One would generate doesn’t even go to that purpose until 2018. She hopes everyone opposed to Proposal One gets out and votes next week, noting that there’s a long list of groups and individuals against the measure, which you can see below.


Michigan Young Republicans

Allegan County Republican Committee

Antrim County Republican Party

Arenac County Republican Party

Benzie County Republican Party

Cheboygan Tea Party

Eaton County Republican Party (unanimous)

Emmett County Republican Party

Genesse County Republican Party

Grand Traverse Republican Party

Gratiot County Republican Party

Houghton County Republican Party

Iosco County Republican Party

Kalkaska County Republican Party

Lake County Republican Party

Livingston County Republican Party

Macomb County Republican Party

Republican Committee of Northern Macomb County (RCNMC)

Mason County Republican Party

Oakland County Republican Party

Otsego County Republican Party

Presque Isle Republican Party

Saginaw County Republican Party

St. Clair County Republican Party

Tuscola County Republican Party

Washtenaw County Republican Party

Wayne 12th Congressional District Republican Committee

Greater West Bloomfield Republicans – GWBR

1st Congressional District Republican Committee

5th Congressional District Republican Committee (unanimous)

7th Congressional District Republican Committee

8th Congressional District Republican Committee (unanimous)

9th Congressional District Republican Committee (unanimous)

10th Congressional District Republican Committee

11th Congressional District Republican Committee

12th Congressional District Republican Committee

13th Congressional District Republican Committee (unanimous)

14th Congressional District Republican Committee

Numerous other organizations have made official statements opposing Proposal 1, including:

Allegan County Tea Party

Berrien County TEA Party

Berrien County Conservatives

6th District Conservatives

Conservative Republicans of Michigan

Constitutional Conservatives (Calhoun County)

Blue Water Tea Party

Ionia County Tea Party

Lakes Area Tea Party

Lapeer County Tea Party

Metro Detroit Freedom Coalition (Medefco Tea Party)

Michigan Conservative Union

Michigan Taxpayers Alliance

Michigan Sons of Liberty

National Federation of Independent Business – Michigan

Platform Republican Caucus

Rattle With Us Tea Party

UpRight Michigan PAC

Wayne County Taxpayers Association, Inc

Green Party of Michigan (GPMI)


Attorney General Bill Schuette

Republican National Committeeman Dave Agema

Darwin Lane Jiles Jr.- Ethnic Vice Chair Michigan Republican Party

Former State Rep. Tom McMillin The Chairman of Concerned Taxpayers

Cindy Koroch Duran, Publisher – Core Principles MI

Brandon Hall, Managing Editor, West Michigan Politics

Joey Gamrat, state liberty activist

Mike Hewitt, Chair, Michigan 2nd District Republican Committee

Gary G. Munson, President and Founder of Barry County TEA Party

Stephan Ohsowski, Former MIGOP Field Manager, Midland County Precinct Delegate

David Yardley, Social Media/Marketing – Core Principles MI; Berrien County TEA Party

State Rep. Cindy Gamrat

State Rep. Todd A. Courser

Representative Gary Glenn

State Rep. Tom Hooker

Representative Dr. John Bizon

State Rep. Lee Lee Stephanie Chatfield

State Representative Lana Theis

State Rep. Henry M. Vaupel

State Rep. Aaron Glenn Miller

State Rep. Peter Lucido

State Rep. Jim Runestad

State Sen. Jack Brandenburg

State Senator Joe Hune

State Senator Patrick Colbeck

Congressman Justin Amash


Ballot Committees/Organizations

Say NO to Higher Taxes & Special Interest Deals

Concerned Taxpayers of Michigan

No to Michigan Tax Increase in May 2015

Protect Michigan Taxpayers – No Sales Tax Increase

Powered by WireReady® NSI