email mobile

Motor Trend Radio
7 AM - 10 AM
WSJM-FM 94.9

Posted: Thursday, 26 June 2014 12:50AM

Nine Municipalities Attend, Five Adopt Resolution At First Meeting Of BPC

To combat Berrien County's decreasing population, shrinking employment numbers, and sagging high school graduation rates an inter-municipality committee known as the Best Practices Committee has been established.



Bill Marohn is with Michigan's Great Southwest Leadership Council. He says the committee will study and evaluate best practices for local government. Nine municipalities met Wednesday at Lake Michigan College for the reading of a resolution.



Five municipalities adopted the resolution to join, they include St. Joseph, Benton Harbor, Royalton Township, Oronoko Township, and the Village of Shoreham.

Berrien County Commissioner Mamie Yarbrough was in attendance and smiled at the fact that nine area municipalities were all in the same room together.



Though his city adopted the resolution, Benton Harbor City Commissioner Trenton Bowens was a NO vote.



Bowens applauds those municipalities that waited to vote. The four that did not vote will discuss the resolution at their respective municipal meetings. The BPC's next meeting is Wednesday, July 23 at the Consortium Offices in Benton Harbor.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

A   A   A