email mobile

Coast to Coast
1 AM - 5 AM
WSJM-FM 94.9

Posted: Monday, 20 January 2014 5:20PM

The Soup Kitchen Honored By LMC With MLK Diversity Award

Lake Michigan College has bestowed the honor of its 13th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Diversity Award on The Soup Kitchen of Benton Harbor. The organization was honored Monday during the 19th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration at the Mendel Center. The Soup Kitchen has been serving the area continuously for 33 years, and is staffed by volunteers. It's open daily from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and serves over 55,000 meals every year. In order to be eligible to win the award from LMC, an individual or organization must have a "demonstrated commitment to enhancing inclusion through community service and professional endeavors; contributions to the progress of humanity, diversity, and the valuing of differences; and leadership in providing increased understanding and respect for diversity."

Here are the past winners:
2013 - The Readiness Center and Sister Paulita Walters, executive director of The Readiness Center
2012 - Water Street Glassworks and Frederick S. Upton Foundation
2011 - Doug Schaffer, formerly of the Boys & Girls Club of Benton Harbor
2010 - Michigan Works! Berrien-Cass-Van Buren
2009 - Marc Peremans and Wendy Ortiz from the Whirlpool Hispanic Network; Martha Cerda and Pedro Ledesma of Enterar Magazine; Van Buren Intermediate School District Administrator Pedro Martinez
2008 - All God’s Children Community Choir founders Larry and Sandy Feldman
2007 - Reverend James E. Atterberry, Sr.
2006 - Former Benton Harbor City Manager Dwight "Pete" Mitchell
2005 - Former Benton Harbor Police Chief Samuel Harris
2004 - Berrien County Judge Mabel Johnson-Mayfield
2003 - Retired Atlantic Automotive Components president Pete Whitehead
2002 - Retired Whirlpool Corporation chairman and CEO David Whitwam


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

A   A   A